Perelman School of Medicine: April 2022 Awards and Honors


Perelman School of Medicine: April 2022 Awards and Honors

In recognition of his work in health care transformation, David A. Asch, executive director of the Center for Health Care Innovation and professor of medical ethics and health policy, received this year’s Ken Shine Award. The award is presented to “leaders who make significant advances in health” by the Dell Medical School at the University of Texas at Austin, and was presented to Anthony Fauci, director of the National Institute of Allergy and Diseases Infectious Diseases, in 2021. All winners give a talk on their award, which Dr. Asch used to focus on balancing automation and humanity in healthcare innovation. “As we bring technology and different payment systems into healthcare, we need to keep the emotional content resonating because that’s where the strongest connections are felt,” Dr. Asch said.

Caption: Angela DeMicheleAngela DeMichele, Alan and Jill Miller Professor of Excellence in Breast Cancer, Co-Director of the Breast Cancer Research Program and Co-Director of the 2-PREVENT Breast Cancer Translational Center of Excellence, is one of ten on breast cancer who have been named a Komen Scholar. Dr. DeMichele will help guide the work and mission of the Susan G. Komen breast cancer organization, serve on the steering committee of Komen Advocates in Science, and help focus on pressing issues affecting patients. .

César de la Fuente, Presidential Assistant Professor of Psychiatry, Microbiology, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering and Bioengineering, received a 2022 Young Investigator Award from the Spanish Royal Society of Chemistry for his pioneering research efforts to combine the power of machines and biology to help prevent, detect and treat infectious diseases.

Virginia A. LiVolsi, professor of pathology and laboratory medicine and otolaryngology, received the 2022 Arthur Purdy Stout Society (APSS) President’s Award for Surgical Pathologists in recognition of her substantial contributions to the field surgical pathology. The APSS is composed of pathologists dedicated to excellence in the teaching, research and practice of surgical pathology. Dr. LiVolsi specializes in endocrine cancers, thyroid pathology, parathyroid pathology and gynecological pathology.

legend: Mr. Celeste SimonDr. Celeste Simon, Professor Arthur H. Rubenstein, MBBCh in the Department of Cellular and Developmental Biology and Scientific Director of the Abramson Family Cancer Research Institute, is one of three Excellence recipients of the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB). in Science Lifetime Achievement Award for demonstrating excellence and innovation in research, as well as exemplary leadership and mentorship.

Dr. Simon has been recognized for her contributions to the study of cancer cell metabolism, primary tumor metastasis, and the link between chronic inflammation and cancer susceptibility. The award also recognizes his dedication to mentoring undergraduate, graduate, postdoctoral and clinical fellows who have conducted research in his laboratory for over 25 years.

Caption: Armenta WashingtonArmenta Washington, Senior Research Coordinator at the Abramson Cancer Center (ACC), has been recognized by the National Cancer Institute (NCI) Center to Reduce Cancer Health Disparities as a National Outreach Network (NON) Community Health Educator (CME). ). She was selected for her outreach to underserved communities, such as driving access to health screenings like the Drive By Flu-FIT for colorectal cancer prevention, and facilitating the first class of ambassadors of the ACC Clinical Trials to speak with their communities about the value of joining clinical trials. She spoke about these efforts and her experience, including best practices and lessons, at the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society Education and Services team meeting in late 2021.


Comments are closed.