Yale-PCCSM Members Honored by the American Thoracic Society


Fellows of Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine (Yale-PCCSM) from the Yale School of Medicine (YSM) Department of Internal Medicine Honored at the 2022 American Thoracic Society International Conference (ATS) in San Francisco. The awards recognize the contributions of Yale-PCCSM members in the field of lung disease and include a lifetime achievement award, mid- and early-career awards, and a winning pitch for an innovative medical sensor.

Additionally, Naftali Kaminski, MD, Head of Yale-PCCSM, was honored with the Amberson Lectureship, one of the highest honors bestowed by ATS. The Amberson Lecture recognizes a career of major lifetime contributions to respiratory disease. This award also honors exemplary professionalism, collegiality and citizenship through mentorship and leadership in the ATS community. The lecture is given in honor of James Burns Amberson, an international authority on lung disease and tuberculosis. (Please see the link to the article below.)

Thoracic Oncology Lifetime Achievement Award

Lynn T. Tanoue, MD, MBA, Professor (Pulmonary) and Vice President for Clinical Affairs of the Department of Internal Medicine, received the TTY Thoracic Oncology Lifetime Achievement Award. The award recognizes an internationally recognized researcher with a record of sustained exemplary achievement who has made the most outstanding scientific contributions to relevant clinical, translational, or laboratory research in the field of thoracic oncology.

Tanoue is a clinician, mentor and educator at YSM, a founding member of the multidisciplinary thoracic oncology program at Yale Cancer Center and director of the Yale Lung Screening and Nodule Program. During the pandemic, Tanoue spearhead the yale The Department of Internal Medicine’s plans to deal with the initial outbreak of COVID-19 in the spring of 2020. She is credited with rapid organization of physicians from all departments of Yale Medicine, the clinical practice of YSM, at address acute workforce challenges during this difficult and uncertain time for ensure the best patient care. Tanoue is also a founder and member (violin) of the Yale Medical Symphony Orchestra.

Scientific Achievement Recognition Award

Erica Herzog, MD, PhD, Professor (Pulmonary) and Associate Dean of Student Research, received the American Thoracic Society (ATS) Recognition Award for Scientific Achievement. This annual award recognizes outstanding contributions to scientific research in basic or clinical areas to improve the understanding, prevention and treatment of respiratory diseases, serious illnesses or sleep disorders. It also recognizes exemplary professionalism, collegiality and citizenship through mentorship and scientific involvement in the ATS community. Recipients are selected based on contributions made throughout their careers or for major contributions at a particular point in their careers. Herzog is one of four recipients to receive the award this year.

This is the third major award Herzog has received from the ATS. Herzog won the Jo Rae Wright Award for Outstanding Science in 2015 and an Unrestricted Research Fellowship in 2010. “mediated mechanisms of fibrosis,” Herzog said. “ATS took a chance on this project and provided critical support that led to some truly incredible discoveries down the line for which I am now honored.”

Herzog directs the Yale Interstitial Lung Disease Center of Excellence and co-directs the Yale Fibrosis Program. His lab focuses on the relationship between neural guidance proteins and aberrant repair and remodeling responses in various fibrosing lung diseases, including idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, scleroderma, and sarcoidosis.

Critical Care Early Career Excellence Award

Lauren Ferrante, MD, MHS, Assistant Professor (Pulmonary) and Director of Core Operations at the Yale Claude D. Pepper Older Americans Independence Center, received the 2022 ATS Assembly on Critical Care Early Career Achievement Award. The award is given to an individual who has made the most outstanding scientific contributions to clinical, translational, or laboratory research relevant to critical care. This award recognizes individuals who have made these contributions early in their careers.

Ferrante’s research program focuses on improving functional outcomes for elderly critical care patients. She is a strong advocate for the integration of geriatric principles into critical care medicine. She is the Principal Investigator (PI) of the National Institute of Aging-funded VALIANT study, which is evaluating long-term outcomes for older adults who have been hospitalized with COVID-19. She is also the principal investigator of the PREDICT study, in which she and her colleagues built a prediction model that identifies intensive care survivors at high risk for persistent functional impairment when they leave the hospital.

“I was humbled and honored to receive this award from the ATS Critical Care Assembly, which is my professional “home” within the American Thoracic Society. To be recognized by a community of my colleagues is a great honor and I am very grateful.

bear cage contest

First-year Yale Pulmonary and Critical Care Fellow John Huston, MD, won the Bear Cage (Building Education to Advance Research) competition. Huston presented his research project called PREDICT: Passive Respiratory Exposure Detection – Investigating COPD Triggers, Using Low-Cost Wearable Sensors to Detect Chemical and Viral Exposures in Patients with Lung Disease . This “Shark Tank”-style pitch session is for early-career professionals to share their innovative research proposals with ATS members, who then evaluate it for clinical applicability. Each finalist pitches their idea in a 10-minute pitch and then receives feedback from the judges and the audience. John won first place in this year’s competition and received a $10,000 scholarship to help support their research and ongoing mentorship from committee members.

Several other trainees were also rewarded:

○ Reginald Brewster – Minority Intern Development Scholarship

○ Snigdha Jain, MD – Abstract Scholarship

○ Jennifer Langstengel – ASPIRE Fellowship

○ Christopher Morton, MD – Association of Directors of Education in Pediatric Respirology Award

○ Gail Stanley – Abstract Award

Also at the conference, Jose Gomez Villalobos, MD, MS, presented the clinical year in review, and several section members were elected to official positions within the ATS: Charles Dela Cruz, MD, PhD, President of the Assembly on Tuberculosis and Pulmonary Infections; Ferrante, chair of the Assembly’s program on Critical Care Medicine; Andrey Zinchuk, MD, MHS, sleep medicine program chair.

The Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine Section is one of eleven sections within the Department of Internal Medicine at YSM. To learn more about Yale-PCCSM, visit the PCCSM website or follow them on Facebook and Twitter.


Comments are closed.